Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Noob Question: Getting the sounds

I'm a guitarist who is just getting into keyboards, and I am going to be playing in a cover band. I'm also a software developer so technology doesn't intimidate me. I can learn how to use features on a keyboard.

What's hard for me, though, is listening to a keyboard sound within a song and trying to figure out how to create a patch that sounds close to the original. I don't have the breadth of knowledge that experienced KB players do that enables them to hear a keyboard sound and think through how the musician created it.

I can dial through prefab patches listening for similarities and I'm sure that's the starting point. But if I found something remotely similar, I would not know what I need to add or subtract to get closer to the sound I am hearing.

SO Finally to my question: Do you know of any video or webpage tutorials that focus on this question? It's not very easy to Google this one.

And maybe there's just no such thing, and the only answer is experience?

For me the starting point depends on the sound. Sometimes I will tweak presets or my existing programs or combis and sometimes it is easiest to start with the default blank slate.  I know some decent online videos on subtractive synthesis, but what is your rig?

• Like 1

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!

So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Sorry guys. Should have mentioned I'm getting a Kurzweil K2700. I was originally looking at Korg Nautilus 61 key to save stage space, but I also want to use the kb to record in Pro Tools at home, so I wanted more controls than the Nautilus offered. The sounds on both are excellent, but I might give the edge to the Kurz.

Welcome JVLee - don't be discouraged by impolite actors online.