Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New beginner YouTube channel - Going (hopefully) from dreadful to decent

ShawnE

Day 1 Learning Guitar - What It's Really Like!

Hey all, I'm Shawn, 38 & fresh to the guitar.

The past 3 days have been my very first days of getting stuck in (probably spent a little too long at it - finger tips feel like I burned them on a stove!).

I've been awkwardly & awfully strumming between D & A chords, but hey, I'm excited for the months ahead.

Looking back on this first video I can already see I need to reallyyyy slow every thing right down & it reinforces the need to let things develop at its own pace.

Oh, and I need to get to grips with holding the pick properly.

I've started with online learning but also looking for a proficient local teacher.

I noticed there's not a great deal of content around showcasing absolute beginners but that's easy to see why - seasoned amateurs & pros tend to sound a lot better!

So, I decided to start this channel to not only periodically document my own progress (likely bi-weekly or monthly) from the very first day so I can look back at it years down the line, but also because I thought it may become intriguing/inspiring for other beginners who may come across it now or in the future.

A way to truly realise that we're not alone with this early frustration (& pain!) & wondering if things could ever possibly get better.

Well, I'm going to find out if they do, anyway!

It may also bring back fond memories for you pros of your own early days.

If you fancy offering motivation, encouragement, tips etc. do feel free to follow along!

New Life With Guitar

• Like 2

Follow my guitar learning journey on YouTube: @NewLifeWithGuitar