Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice needed: Crumar Mojo vs VR-730

Lyon

Hello everyone,

Longtime lurker, first-time poster. :-) I've learned a lot by reading forum posts, and now I need your expert advice.

I'm an amateur acoustic jazz pianist, but have always loved B3 and Rhodes sounds. For my birthday, I'm going to get myself a keyboard to compliment the nice upright in my home music studio. After much waffling and gnashing of teeth (and a long conversation with a friend who is a professional B3 player), I realized that despite my ingrained biases, I didn't need something with 88 weighted keys and a great piano sound; I have that already, and it doubles as a place to rest my stereo equipment and wifi router. My budget is ~ $1500, and I won't be using this for gigging, just for playing at home alone or with family and friends.

I've tried out a bunch of keyboards at Sam Ash and Guitar Center in Manhattan, including several I learned about through the forum, but nothing I could find on display quite did the trick. So after reading lots of posts and consulting with my B3 buddy, I have narrowed my options to two that I have *not* been able to try for myself: the Crumar Mojo 61 and the VR-730.