Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Electro synth samples

3rdAct

So on to my question (and some context)

I use a Nord Electro 5D 73 for a one-board rig, and play mainly AP, EP, B3, clav. Occasionally Im asked to cover synth leads and pads (and actually just about anything else). What Id like to be able to do is load up the 5D with a palette of synth samples that would allow me to produce what I need when I need it. Now, given the 5Ds limited sample capabilities, I know this isnt without challenges. The good news, however, is that I won't be trying to get exact matches to the original sounds. Id be okay with something close enough for the general listener not to notice a difference during a gig, even if it couldnt survive an A/B test (I know, not ideal, but one step at a time.).

OK, so the thing is, although I get the basics of synthesis, I have no actual experience here. I have no idea what would go into such a palette. The Nord site has a fairly large number of samples, especially if you include the legacy stuff (which includes Nord Lead, ARP, Moog, Prophet, etc.). Plus, I assume there are also third-party samples one could buy and download to the 5D. All with a nearly infinite number of varieties (like a paint store). For someone with barely any experience with a synth, its quite overwhelming! So Im looking for any ideas on an approach I can use to assemble this palette of basic synth leads and pads that could get me through the night. Would it be based on certain classic synths? Certain waveforms? Related to the time period of the song?

Although I fear that what Im suggesting might be wishful thinking, I hope theres something reasonable I can do. Thanks for listening.

Joe

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The first thing to do is go through all of the onboard synth sounds in the 5D.