Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need a decent keyboard amp for small to medium venues

Kevin Sage

Hi all,

I have a Kronos X88 and have been running stereo into a DI to dedicated snake inputs and relying upon our soundman to send me a mix to my floor wedge. Problem is that this mix can easily become buried with all the vocals, guitars, etc., as I need to hear those as well (I play utility role as main keyboard player, 2nd guitar and sing backups as well). We tend to play at a dull roar on stage depending on the room and we usually use our own PA and same sound engineer for every show.

I'm ready to graduate to a stage amp for my keys and have my decision boiled down to two.

1. Motion Sound KP-500SN

or

2. Roland KC550

I am leaning towards the Motion Sound amp but wouldn't mind reading and learning your practical experience using either in a live setting...Pros and Cons.

I also know I'm going to sound like a complete NOOB with this next question but, being a guitarist first, I'm a bit lost in the keyboard gear realm. Here goes: Do I still send a stereo 1, 2 signal out of the keys to a DI, then to snake while sending a sep signal to the amp for stage monitoring? This "split" perplexes me a bit, but I really would like to be able to leave the FOH mix in the hands of our sound guy but have control over volume levels on stage via the amp.

Any help or insights you can provide me to clear this up a bit would be most appreciated.

Kevin

Voyager, A Tribute to the Music of Journey - http:// www.facebook.com/voyageraz

Keys: Korg KronosX 88, M Audio Code 61, Novation Launchkey, Mainstage, Keyscape, Omnisphere

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply