Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tube amp watts

JuJu Kwan

This is probably a stupid question, but I'm new to all the technical stuff. Why do amps using the same power tubes have such a wide range of wattage. As an example, 2 6l6 tubes can be 60, 50, 45, 40, 35, 30 and maybe some I missed.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply
This is probably a stupid question, but I'm new to all the technical stuff. Why do amps using the same power tubes have such a wide range of wattage. As an example, 2 6l6 tubes can be 60, 50, 45, 40, 35, 30 and maybe some I missed.

The short answer is, the designs are different.

Different circuits, with different value resistors, capacitors, transformers, and different power-supply circuits, supply different voltages to the various components, all resulting in different output wattage.

Ask yourself- What Would Ren and Stimpy Do?

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~

_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _

Different circuits, with different value resistors, capacitors, transformers, and different power-supply circuits, supply different voltages to the various components, all resulting in different output wattage.

There is no such thing as a stupid question JuJu and Caevan will always give you a great answer! :thu:

Take care, Larryz

Also different amp makers measure wattage differently. Some measure wattage before distortion starts, some measure with a little bit of soft clipping . And every set of tubes will vary in output. And how you bias an amp varies the output. So you see its really just a marketing game. Rocket 50, Super 60 , whatever makes a cooler sounding name.

FunMachine.

Thank you, I've never owned a tube amp, but have been curious about them. I had never even played one before I came to the USA. Almost everything here is solid state. I use public transportation so my ZT is the way to go.

You mean it's not by weight? :D