Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Additive vs. Subtractve

Husker

Can someone be kind enough to explain the difference between an additive vs subtractive synthesizer? I see these terms on other physical and virtual instruments.

I am just learning about all of this.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Subtractive is the most common and exists in most classic synths. It uses waveforms with rich harmonic content like sawtooth and pulse waveforms, and SUBTRACTS harmonics to create other tones using a filter. This is the mode that Moog, Arp, etc. and other synths like them use.

Additive uses lots and lots of sine waves to assemble the fundamental and overtones of the sound. It requires lots of hardware (or software) for control, as each and every harmonic usually has its own envelope (higher harmonics decay faster than slower in real world instruments.) Very few synthesizers outside of computers have ever used additive. I think there used to be a Korg that did this.

There is also the so called west coast model, used by Buchla and others where the oscillator starts with a sine wave and creates harmonics by being modulated at audio rates by another oscillator. The resulting waves can be filtered still if you want.

Moe

---

Subtractive starts with an oscillator (or oscillators) producing a waveform - often with harmonic content above the fundamental, and uses a filter (or filters) to subtract harmonic content to taste or intent. Early analog synthesizers like the Minimoog are examples.

Additive uses a series of individual oscillators to add harmonic content above the fundamental - a simple example is the series of 9 drawbars on a Hammond organ.

Very simplified description, and I'm sure a quick Google of the keywords will provide a far more detailed explanation, and examples.

Tim

Edit: Moe's post above is better than mine.

The real basic version?