Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Jazz Duo-advice from members

I've had the good fortune of getting a booking for a regular gig (once a week) at a country club/restaurant. 

This gig will require me to perform with a saxophonist as a jazz duo.

I've never done duo work before. All of my jazz experience is in trios and quartets.

I was hoping members who have performed in this aspect could offer some advice on such things as:

choice of repertoire? (Tunes that shine as a duo)

What are some tunes that dont work or are very difficult?

What are easier to prepare tunes?

Your overall happiness or displeasure with duo work?

During your piano solos, do you keep the walking bass, use stride techniques, or play rooted or rootless chords behind your solos?

Really any advice will be appreciated.

Yamaha CP4 (Gigs) Kawai MP7 (home), Yamaha CP33(gigs), Yamaha P80(retired), 3 QSC K10's, Zed 10FX mixer, Sennheiser HD598, Bachendorff 45" acoustic

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Even if you don't have vocals, I would suggest that you do tunes with melodies everyone will recognize. Pick songs Sinatra, Krawl, Bublé and other popular "jazz" singers have covered. Also consider covering some other popular songs from the 50's to present. Elvis, Beatles, Temptations, Elton John, Billy Joel, Stevie Wonder, James Taylor, Whitney Houston, Sting, Sade, Bob Markey, Eagles....

I've done a few sax duo gigs and found them pretty fun. I'll second the suggestion of recognisable melodies, we found a lot of jazz vocal standards worked pretty well with the vocal line translated onto sax.

For solos, I used various stride patterns and careful pedalling to keep the sound filled out.

Cephid - Progressive Electro Rock

First, a practical consideration... avoid to place the sax player very close to you. Not too distant either, but you know... you want to hear your instrument. :D