Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

if i could travel backwards in time

There's a novel, Replay by Ken Grimwood (IIRC) wherein the protagonist has a heart attack and somehow wakes from it as his much younger self, "back in the day" when he was in college. He "remembers" the future, ditches college, and flies out to Vegas to bet on the Kentucky Derby because he "remembers" the winning horse.

So, okay, if that happened to me tonight (God forbid) and I woke up as my 19 year old 1972 hippie-dippie self, it would be one heck of a shock.

I was a cab driver in Tallahassee FL that year. But I have fond memories of that time, and if I were actually able to revisit it that would be awesome.

Now, I know this is pure fantasy but I suppose if that really happened I would invest heavily in Microsoft and Cisco Systems as soon as I could, and, I dunno, maybe start out by writing my own version of Jaws and beat Peter Benchley to the marketplace (that would be worth some serious coin!).

I would then be in a position to buy a Synclavier and a Kurzweil K250 as soon as they came out, throw in a Fairlight and an Emulator II.

Man, that would really be cool. :)

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I get your point, but Cisco Systems was formed in 1984 and went public in 1990.

Microsoft was founded in 1975 and went public in 1986.

So you'd have to wait a bit for those two.

And of course, you'd want to remember to sell MSFT and CSCO sometime around 1998, or maybe 1999.

I have no idea what would be the best-performing stocks from 1972 until now. Warren Buffet would probably know.

Michael

Montage 8, Logic Pro X, Omnisphere, Diva, Zebra 2, etc.

I would have stayed in Paris, France, and try to study more, not only in the classical field but in other fields too. More jazz, more academical studies, more gigs... And i would try to make a living there. There is nothing like being in Paris