Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hammond A-102: Should I buy it?

juanbastonoeste

Hey all,

I went check out a Hammond A102 today. The price is $1500. I've played several real vintage organs in the past, but I have little experience when it comes to buying or owning them. The organ is in great cosmetic shape and I spent an hour testing it out through the A102's built in speakers (there was no leslie on hand). Everything on the organ works fine except for the percussion which doesn't work (see video) and there is a strong rattle that sounds like it's coming from one of the speakers. In addition, the sound of the organ is totally distorted (in part or totally due to this rattle) at bass frequencies. We tested all three speakers independently by connecting them to a radio, and they all sounded perfectly clear. I decided to make a short video on which you can hear and see for yourself what's going on with the organ:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fvBRf7Z2ZU

What I'd like to know is whether you have any ideas as to what might be wrong with the organ, and how much money I might be looking at to get it into playing condition. Thanks!

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It's a pretty typical market price for a A100 series. You can find decent $1500 A100s all day long and twice on Sunday.

Now, if that A102 came with a working Leslie for $1500, that might be a better deal.

You're going to spend some money chasing those problems down.

Personally, I'd pass on it for $1500.

Yamaha C7 Grand, My Hammonds: '57 B3, '54 C2, '42 BC, '40 D, '05 XK3 Pro System, Kawai MP9000, Fender Rhodes Mk I 73, Yamaha CP33, Motif ES6, Nord Electro 2, Minimoog Voyager & Model D, Korg MS10

Yeah that's too much money for one that's not working right. In any large US metro area they are fairly easy to find for $1500 in perfect working condition.

Or less. Around $1000 is when they really start attracting attention.