Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Small amp for Electro 3 to PA

theGman

I usually play out with an Electro 3 and a Yamaha MM6.

At times I ran direct to FOH from these boards through my D2 direct box. The sound people would often complain about the low output I believe mostly or only from the E3, so I made life simple by using an old KC350 for a monitor and then feed FOH line out from it, eliminating the problem.

My question is, if I wanted to run boards through the D2 directly to FOH without carrying the KC350 around, is there a really small amp or something (don't need monitor) I could use for this?

I'm not technical enough to know in output numbers what I would need, so I honestly don't know what to look for on my own, but I want to have the right equipment when setting up on stage.

Small size would be preferred. Thanks in advance.

Paul

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

wow thats strange the sound guys complain the level from my E3 is too hot ....

have you tried the headphone out from the E3, its hotter.

also if you dont need to monitor how about a line mixer?

SpaceStation V3,

MoxF6,PX5S,Hammond-SK2,Artis7,Stage2-73,

KronosX-73,MS Pro145,Ventilator,OB DB1,Lester K

Toys: RIP died in the flood of 8/16 1930 Hammond AV, 1970s Leslie 145, 1974 Rhodes Stage

Paul, why don't you need a monitor?

You could always buy a small mixer for your two boards and send that signal to both a powered speaker or two, as well as FOH.

If the technicians are supplying a monitor for your keys, then you can eliminate the powered speakers.

"Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent." - Victor Hugo

I have a Rolls MX28 and a Peavey PV8 in the back someplace. Would either of them give me a strong enough signal? Sorry for the dumb question, but I just don't want to experiment at setup time; the sound guy is a real asswipe.