Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Can someone tell me the chords?

Shogun

I'm a drummer trying to figure out the keyboard chords in Rush's 'Distant Early Warning' for my bass player. I only need the first three chords of the song when the Organ/synths kick in at 0:27. I've watched someone on youtube demo it but not sure if he's doing it right. He's doin CDG-CDF#-CDE which just doesn't seem theoretically correct to me..but I'm not a keyboard player. It does sound like it though. Can someone help me out?

Here's a link to the video in case you don't have the song.

distant early warning

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply
This is what I love about this forum. A drummer with only four previous posts to his name comes on and asks whether we can help a third party with some chords. And up pops someone like SK who actually helps. How many boards are there where you could expect such a response? SK, you're a gent!

Studio: Yamaha P515 | Yamaha Tyros 5 | Yamaha HX1 | Moog Sub 37

Road: Yamaha YC88 | Nord Electro 5D

Using your notation style: ACG-ADF#-ACE or Am7 D(triad ) Am. But I'd play the first chord ACEG. Maybe they left out (E) the fifth to be 'original'.

The other notes you're hearing are bleeding from other instruments. Good luck with that.

Compadre, I beg to differ

The first chord is ACDG

Why fit in, when you were born to stand out ?

My Soundcloud with many originals:

[70's Songwriter]

This is what I love about this forum. A drummer with only four previous posts to his name comes on and asks whether we can help a third party with some chords. And up pops someone like SK who actually helps. How many boards are there where you could expect such a response? SK, you're a gent!

Keyboard players, drummers, bass players, harmonica players...we're all musicians right..nothing wrong with helpin a fellow musician out right?

Thanks for the help guys!