Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Grey wears a different, different hat...

filenameI think most people know by now that I am primarily a string player, not keyboards. However, I not only play stringed instruments, I build them...from raw sawmill planks all the way through to something that you can pick up and play; I'm a luthier.

So, one morning I woke up with this fantastical (as in fantasy), silly (as in bone-headed stupid), unshakeable (as in obsessive, to the point of madness) notion that I wanted a Les Paul with a full length neck. For those who are keyboard players, the phrase "full length neck" may not mean anything--it means the neck is continuous for the entire length of the guitar. 99% of the guitars out there have necks that are formed separately from the bodies and either glued or screwed into place. Full length necks are not generally found in guitars and basses because, frankly, they're a pain in the ass to make. Well, I...being me...wasn't content to just build a guitar in a Les Paul-ish body style with a full length neck and wings. Nooooo...not yours truly...I went off the deep end. Nothing would do but to build the guitar with a closed, book-matched face, thus turning the whole project into a 3-dimensional jigsaw puzzle.

What.

An.

Idiot.

Well, I got the bloody thing done, in spite of changing my mind on a number of things in mid-process (just to make life more difficult, natch) and, although there are a few touch-up things still to be attended to, I'm calling it finished as a slightly early birthday present to myself.

So there...

Grey

I'm not interested in someone's ability to program. I'm interested in their ability to compose and play.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Sigh...so why aren't the confounded pictures showing up? They're less than 1M and the Attachment Manager says that there are two pictures.