Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Kronos question: Using Set List to send ext. prog changes

My present rig is a Nord Wave and Kronos 73 (original one).

I've never bothered to learn how to use Set List to send program changes over MIDI to an external synth. I want to be able to create some (not all) entries in Set List to send prog changes to the Wave (since that Nord only uses a "linear" program system - no easy way to get from "Bank One, Program 13" to "Bank 4, Program 57" besides manually changing the bank and twirling the knob.

Is there a way to simply select the program I want on the Nord and "tell" the Kronos that's the program I want stored? Or do I have interpret / translate bank and program slot?

I've never done this before, hoping a black belt ninja will take pity and give me a quick heads up.

Help me Obi-Wan, you're my only hope.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Every time you click on a Set List box it sends:

Bank Select: 0

Bank Select (fine): 0 through 127 [this number matches the Set List you have active]

Program: 0 through 127 [this number matches the set list box number]

There is no way to change this relationship to my knowledge.

Busch.

Busch:

This means I'd need to use some external device (like that Set List Maker program on an iPad) to "translate" the Kronos MIDI output (as you described above) into a "this Kronos Set List box equals these program changes to these external devices"?

So even if I set up Combis with external devices, once I'm in Set List mode it's just going to MIDI output as above?

Tim

Not sure I agree with that answer Busch!

What Timwat surely needs is to set up a COMBI with the relevant external MIDI address and PROGRAMME CHANGE number, then associate the COMBI with a setlist position??