Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

S90ES Musings

TommyBoy

Well, I've had my S90ES now for about 6 months and I thought I'd put down a few of my thoughts.

I should first state that I am a professional accordionist with a background in synths. Nobody would ever mistake me for a classical pianist and I would imagine most of you would immediately peg me as a rank amature on the piano, although the more enebriated could probably be fooled into thinking I know what I'm doing.

I've been getting deeper and deeper into Jazz the past five years and have progressed slowly but markedly.

I outgrew my Technics Digital Piano and put it up on eBay. I bought an S90ES new after trying several boards in several stores. I am a research-aholic, almost to the extent of enjoying the research more than the actual item under consideration (that's a whole other topic!).

I have had a Yamaha DX7 and Ensoniq Mirage in my youth and had a Fantom XR for about 6 months. I tired of all of them. The constant has been the Digital Piano. When I heard the S90ES with headphones I was SOLD! Wow, what a piano!

Here are some thoughts after 6 months. It seems that I always use these forums for my own benefit and rarely give back. I am not an everyday poster but am definitely and everyday reader. Your opinions help me tremendously and perhaps I can help someone on the fence with the S90ES.

1) It's big. I knew this going in but am still amazed by it's size. Mine is a studio board. I had a problem with it and had to take it in for repair. What a pain! I would certainly hate to move this thing on a regular, gigging basis. My acoustic accordion weighs 50 pounds in its case but it is totally manageable. I can put it in any trunk or backseat and be on my way. The S90ES is simply put, a beast. If I just needed some basic sounds I'd get a Nord Electro and be done. I can't imagine moving this thing daily, but to each his own.