Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ever stain (finish) the back of an upright piano?

shniggens

I've moved my acoustic upright away from facing the wass, because I was sick of staring at the wall when I play . . .

I want to stain the back of it so that it matches the rest of the finish. It's in a nice room of the house, and I would like it to look nice all around.

Yeah, I'm one of those obsessive compulsive types. I think there's drugs for that.

Any danger in doing this? Anything I should look out for?

:wave:

Amateur Hack

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm a bit of a woodworker, so I'll take a stab at an answer.

In order to get a "piano finish" on the wood on the rear of your upright, you'll first need to sand it all starting with 150 grit, then 180, and 220. Then, take a damp rag/sponge and wet the bare wood slightly. This will raise the grain. While it's damp, sand it again with 220 grit. This process should get you a very nice surface to work with.

Then, you should give it a coat of gel stain, the color you want it to end up. This stuff is messy. You spread it on thick, wipe it into the grain and then rub it off with a clean rag in the direction of the grain (don't rub against the grain). Give it more coats of stain until you are happy with the color. The gel nature of the stain should fill the pores in the grain nicely. You want the surface to look very smooth and not at all grainy before proceeding.

Now, you're ready for the final coats. Here, you can be traditional, spend a lot of time and effort trying to get a perfect finish, only to screw it all up right at the end, or you can be modern and cheezy and get a reasonable finish.

Best = French polish (Shellac based). You'll have to rub the finish on in many, many thin coats, gradually building the thickness and smoothness. Finally, buff the finish with a cotton buffing wheel to a high shine. Lots of work. Very easy to screw up.