Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Line Mixers?

hermanjoe

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have been using the Rane SM82 for two years. It does the job well, and has some useful features. There is a downloadable manual on the Rane site for it. I'll probably end up trading up to a Yamaha 01V96 at some point later this year, as I need a few digital effects and my mixing needs are outgrowing eight stereo channels.

Note you don't want to pair the SM82 with the Rane HC6, however. There is a design issue on the HC6 where the Signal Present LEDs introduce noise in the output bus when they change state. Very annoying in low SPL applications.

"More tools than talent"

Motif ES7:Kurzweil PC1x:Electro 2 73:Nord Lead 3:MKS-80:Matrix 1000:Microwave XT

Just picked up a Beheringer RX1602. It is a 16 channel 1U Rack mount. Very nice as a sub mixer since each of the 8 sections is dual Mono instead of a panned stereo like some other mixers.

http://www.behringer.com/RX1602/index.cfm?lang=ENG

Can't beat the price either ($99) Very silent, all of the pots are silent. This is going to be my main submixer which will either go into a Tascam FW1884 or to the house mains for the live stuff I do.

Originally posted by The Magician:

Just picked up a Beheringer RX1602. Can't beat the price either ($99) Very silent, all of the pots are silent.

looks like a killer deal, but what's with the frequency response? do you notice any changes in the synths sound compared to direct sound? is it fairly "neutral"?

i'm always scared when i see a "behringher" logo on a piece of equipment, but i really need one for ocasional gigs. All behringer stuff i had was crappy, now sold or broken. :freak:

thx

http://www.babic.com - music for film/theatre, audio-post