Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

justin timberlake

daBowsa

A-ha! I knew that'd get your attention!

No, just kidding. Anyone heard his new song? The entire song is a Rhodes groove w/ bass and drums. Not that I listen to that much pop radio, but I feel like the current trend is more classic Rhodes/Wurly based stuff rather than DX7-ish EP's.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by dabowsa:

....... I feel like the current trend is more classic Rhodes/Wurly based stuff rather than DX7-ish EP's.

Trends are for those who can't create something on their own. :P
I am back.

here we go again. I don't understand why people have to flame on pop music? I got a freakin degree in theory and composition and I can appreciate it, so what makes people so far "above" this genre?

my point is this: for everyone who thinks that this stuff is crap, why not just come up with a quick hit or two, make a killing, and then continue making your art music? I mean, none of these guys know ANYTHING about real music, right?

enough with this rant:

I've noticed too that the classic rhodes/wurly/b3 sound is coming back. I don't know if it's a chicken and the egg syndrome, but with the neptunes reliance on "funky sounds," a lot, and I mean A LOT of songs are popping up with this flavor, though mainly in hip hop/rnb pop. Though even in pop-rock, there's a resurgance of the low fi sound. Just look at white stripes and all the garage bands of the past year or so (strokes, vines, hives)...I think the comon thought is that retro is cool again....groovy

Woah there schmoron...don't be so quick to judge Gulliver, I don't think he deserves your rant/reaction.

G said:

Trends are for those who can't create something on their own.