Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recording RHODES

clusterchord

---copy of a post to GM rec forum---

I plan to use rented real Rhodes for a recording

session for the first time instead of a rompler.

I have no knowledge about tracking it into DAW.

It will probably be a Stage, therefore without

speakers, but i'm not sure yet. I'll use EHX

flanger and SmallStone guitar pedals.

Any suggestions? How do I build my signal chain?

do i go direct to pedals > D.I. > A/D

or mike an ac30 or something?

Closest match to a sound I'm looking for would be

OK Computer by RadioHead, all that progressive

brit retro 70s sound. sparkly tremolo in ambient

songs and semi-bark in guitar dense songs.

Rhodes Model suggestion for this?

what kind of tremolo to use? :rolleyes:

As far as mic and pre/d.i. we have:

TL Audio C1,JoeMeek VC1q, C12,SM57,NT1

I'll use Wurli200A on one song , so the same question applies here i guess...

thank you for any kind of input/experience

tom :)

http://www.babic.com - music for film/theatre, audio-post

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 4 weeks later...
Running your Rhodes through a speaker is great to capture the ambience, but I would audition your various pres with the Rhodes. The pres can really fatten and amplify the signal before it goes into the DAW. I never record any of my keys without first going through a pre and I don't use speaker cabs. I go direct into the DAW.

For many classic recordings, Rhodes were recorded directly from the board. If the console had transformers, it would add some nice highlights. As for more recent recordings, as you've noticed the tremelo is still an important feature. There are outboard effects that will add that for you.

I agree with the other suggestions about using a pre before going into the DAW.

BTW, we have a tasty collection of Rhodes and Wurlitzer EPs (also includes Pianet, Clav and DX7 sounds) in Akai and Kurzweil format. Check the demos: