Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Never really played with others, this a big jump?

longview

Okay, so here's the (potential) tricky thing.

I've been playing bass for about five years, but in all that time I've never done much more than play alone or occassioanlly (very occassionally) jammed with a couple of guitarist friends.

Now I've been wanting to play in a band or somesuch for a while now, and there's a really awesome one that's in need of a bassplayer. Now aside from the slight difficulty of them hoping to be a gigging band and me being stuck with a 15 Watt practice amp, how hard is this potentially going to be for me?

I think I've got to a fairly decent standard, and have managed to pretty much nail a few of their songs that I've got by ear in a couple of days practice. But that's just playing along with full tracks, anyone got any advice for potential pitfalls?

....I really shouldn't get as panicky as I do, I haven't actually even approached the band yet!!

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You're gonna need to get out there and play with a drummer sooner or later. And it will be rough the first time.

Eventually, though, the bassist "sets" the time for the band.

You'll need to borrow an amp to make it work, I fear.

And if it goes south, please don't take it personally. You must learn how to do this, so dust yourself off and keep going.

Good luck

"Let's raise the level of this conversation" -- Jeremy Cohen, in the Picasso Thread.

Still spendin' that political capital far faster than I can earn it...stretched way out on a limb here and looking for a better interest rate.

One thing I keep in mind is that my chances of making the band are 1/(how many people try out). This could be 20 people or 100. Who knows?

Things I ahve noticed people really care about...

1. Are you easy to get along with and/or like minded if they are very culturally oriented.