Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Guitarist thinking of trying bass

Jeep5ter

Hello, new to the forum. I am a longtime guitarist (> 25yrs), and am thinking of trying out the bass. In guitars, I favor the Les Paul and Hamer (Explorer copy) feel. I think the sound I want to attain is most likely to come from a Rickenbacker 4003 (Geddy Lee, Mike Rutherford, Squire, etc.), and have heard that this is most like a guitar feel. Questions:

1. is it stupid to attempt to teach myself bass?

2. am I on the right track to get a Ric?

3. I have a Fender twin reverb tube amp (40W) - assuming I don't plan to play the bass on stage, only at the house, can I get away with using my guitar amp to play bass through?

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1. No, I did it for 20 years fine, it's slow though - you can get more from a good lesson than months of self-study. I would recommend lessons.

2. Don't know, others will comment.

3. Should be fine for home, I guess, but sometimes having a good bass sound at home helps you to practise.

Don't forget though that bass is a completely different approach to music, function and mentality to guitar. Sorry if you already know that, you probably do. For this reason I prefer a very different feel on bass to on guitar, I play each very differently (and guitar very badly! ;) )

Thanks for the response. Yes, I probably won't be doing Eddy Van Halen pull offs on a bass, but the music I am enjoying nowdays (Spock's Beard, IQ, etc) I find myself ignoring the guitar and following the bass, which is why I want to try.

1. - no

2. - yes

3. - Most guitar speakers aren't designed to handle bass frequencies. If you can get a cheap bass speaker cab and run the output of the head to it instead of guitar speakers, it will do fine for practice. (if you keep the volume down, you can probably use it as is)

You can stop now -jeremyc

STOP QUOTING EVERY THING I SAY!!! -Bass_god_offspring