Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Pedals and effects

Basskickerboy

Hey, I'm a beginning bassist. I'm in a Highschool band that plays Rock, Punk, and Classic Rock. I've been trying to check out pedals and stuff, but have no clue as of where to start. All these pedals that exist just leave me dazed and confused. I'd really like to get started on a pedalboard, but have no clue where to start, and where to end. If it helps, I have a Fender Rumble 100 Bass Amp and a Peavey Milestone IV.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you don't know where to start, don't get any effects.

Keep practicing. Try to copy the basslines you hear on records.

When you hear a bass sound on a record that you really like, do some research to find out how they got that sound. If they used an effect, and you've "just gotta have that sound" then buy the effect.

I own a handful of effect pedals and I almost never bring more than one of 'em to a gig. Most of the time I just play straight into my amp and turn it all the way up if I need distortion.

For me, the best place to start is something like a half decent Multi-effects unit like the Korg AX10B or Pandora. Most effects are good enough to use live, you will get a good idea of which specific effects you want, and you won't break the bank trying to figure out what effects you really want down the road.

You can stop now -jeremyc

STOP QUOTING EVERY THING I SAY!!! -Bass_god_offspring

lug, you should add that statement to you signature.-Tenstrum

I'm not sure any argument can top lug's. - Sweet Willie

Here's a site with some example mp3s. Not always of the highest quality, but it will give you some idea of how some of these sound.

http://www.geocities.com/basseffects/

Get a halfway decent compressor or maybe a tuner pedal to aleviate some of your GAS pains. There was a very good thread on compressor pedals recently, HERE!