Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Wow...is it just me or are classical music faculty really a bunch of bitter folks?

Damn....

Is it just me or are classical music faculty really a bunch of bitter folks?

I've been working freelance at a Concert hall for the past 5 years which is inside a private music school for kids through High school. It has a reputation for being very good... the hall is great, and we still do adult higher-profile artists in the same hall.

I just can't stand dealing with the faculty members I bump into there. My GAWD are they bitter about something! Bad attitudes, HUGE EGOS, and extremely judgemental.

Wow... just think... these people have the privilege of making music for a living!

It's like they're all bitter because they're careers stalled and they didn't become the next Yo Yo Ma . (Yo-Yo Ma is one of the sweetest people I've worked with BTW).

I've been dealing with these people for years... it never ends... bitter, bitter, bitter....assh@l#$.

I've dealt with reporters, producers, rock/pop musicians.... they all have they're own problems but I have yet to find a more bitter and resentful group of people in my life.

So sad really....

Valky

Valkyrie Sound:

http://www.vsoundinc.com

Now at TSUTAYA USA:

http://www.tsutayausa.com

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I wasn't around it as much as you have been Valky, but in my experience, I found that yes, they may be, when taken as a group, somewhat more prone to bitterness than people in some other fields, but it's just like anything else really - you have a wide range of people and experiences represented, and attitudes vary accordingly.