Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Mac Users - Which DAW Do You Use if You *Don't* Use Logic? And Why?

I agree, and I think you already know what I use although maybe not why?

In any case, this thread will be interesting to follow at the very least.

I've used Mac and Windows in my employment, sometimes both and sometimes only Windows (which is the world's default).

Both are very good, learning curve is different. My focus is in getting past all the learning curves and recording my songs. 

Since I know it pretty well, I've been a Mac user for decades. In 1992 when I started learning Photoshop, it was Mac only and the college had a roomful, a Photoshop lab. I lived there for a while. 

When I wanted to start learning recording I bought an interface and MOTU Digital Performer (full version) as a package. It was Mac only at that point as well. 

I found it difficult to learn, a bit obtuse and it seemed like there were too many separate palettes and all different sizes so hard to column them. I disliked it, realized my interface was more than I wanted (original 896 8 channel Firewire interface). I bought a smaller, single rack space Mackie interface, also Firewire. The mic preamps sounded better for one thing but it came with Tracktion 2.5 or 3 or something it had been for a few years. Another full version. I found it was quick to get it up and running and start tracking. 

The coder who licensed Tracktion to Mackie bought it back and started updating it. The improvements have been substantial but the basic, easy-to-get- moving interface remains. It's been renamed as Waveform but the numbering is conisistent with Waveform 12.5 being current. I still use it and like it, I can do amazing things that I learned along the way (with many more to learn!) and I can set it up and start recording very quickly.