Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Logic Pro User Exploring Cubase 12

Earlier this week I downloaded the free (for 30 days) version of Cubase Pro 12.  I've been using Logic Pro X for 10+ years, right now on a 2015 iMac and 2012 MBP w/Catalina (last OS for that model); iMac at home, MBP at a teaching studio.  I also have Cubasis 3 on a iPad Pro, which has sometimes been a teaching tool. 

Cubase 12 runs best on my basic Acer PC laptop, far better than on the 2012 MBP (Catalina not being officially supported by Steinberg).  I didn't install it on the iMac because that computer has been super-glitchy over the past year and a half; every few months it becomes 'possessed' in its interractions with Logic  - among other apps, and even Sweetwater's tech support team was flummoxed at times by it. We've gotten the iMac to return to normal a few times, but I'm not counting on it lasting too much longer.  So a big reason for taking a look at switching over to Cubase - especially for the home-based rig - is the cost of a replacing the iMac; and even going with a new Mac laptop is aggravating, $$-wise. An upgraded PC would eventually be much easier on the wallet.

Full-blown Cubase is quite a bit deeper than Cubasis, and does have a steeper learning curve than Logic.  So solid tutorials that fellow users here can point me to would be great.  I've attempted a couple of those, so info on some that are clear, concise and to the point would be helpful.  One thing I would miss in converting over is Drummer.  I've started reading up on UJAM Virtual Drummer Hot, and Jamstix 4.  Either could be an option, but any additional ideas from here would be great.

'Someday, we'll look back on these days and laugh; likely a maniacal laugh from our padded cells, but a laugh nonetheless' - Mr. Boffo.

We need a barfing cat emoticon!

My friend and guitarist with me is a massive Cubase/Nuendo fan and keeps trying to get me to switch!