Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Why is learning piano so bloody difficult?

I've been playing guitar and bass for years (and ukulele for a few months), and recently decided to learn to play piano. 

I'm an amateur songwriter and I had this mad idea to attempt to learn to play my songs on piano. Wow, the piano is a harsh mistress! I'm wondering how you guys became masters of the keyboard. Why is it so difficult? Or is it just me?

This was my reaction to trying to learn guitar later in life.

My brain is pretty wired to the keyboard layout and the physical memory of where notes are. It's essentially one axis. The note boundaries are visually obvious, given the arrangement of black and white keys.  Want louder?  Thwack harder. Practice scales and chords and your hands know where to land before you finish thinking about it.

Guitar has your brain working across two axes--i.e. horizontally and vertically across strings. Even with dots I don't know where the hell I am most of the time. :D And I have to adjust for the B string breaking the interval pattern.  "Oh but you can put a capo here, and you can tune it differently.."  :facepalm: , further adding to the mental gymnastics.

For me the only way into that headspace has been to repeat, repeat, repeat, and remind myself not to "translate" to the keyboard. Just learn it for what it is!

One of the cooler aspects of the guitar has been the immediate, visceral connection with the actual sound generation. I like all the string control options, from different strums to mutes to slides.

Piano translates key presses across complex mechanisms before any sound comes out. Sure, there's pedaling, and you can mute strings (while looking like you're changing a spark plug). It's just a very different feeling.

At least both allow us to sing and play at the same time!

• Like 2
I make software noises.

1 hour ago, BMD said: