Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How does one become an "outside writer"?

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was an outside writer, once. Then I came inside - it was starting to get dark.

I've written a lot of songs that sound good in my mind. I think the trick is to write songs that sound good in other people's ears...specifically a publisher.

*Howard Zinn for President*

**Pilsner Urquell for President of Beers!**

"Publisher" is the right answer, but I don't think it really works, at least not at first.

You need to have a non-publisher connection with someone involved in the recording project or in the group.

Warning: the following contains mixed metaphors:

Given that most artists would rather have their own meteocre songs fill up their albums rather than solicit better songs from outside sources, and of the precious album spots, there is ferocious competition, you need some human connection between you/your song and the group. As hard as that sounds, if your song is really good, and you do a decent demo of it, and play it for people who know people who know people (and everyong does), it will bubble up. Cream rises to the top, cynicism be damned.

Unfortunately, all that glisters isn't gold, and not everyone's as good a driver as they think. But cream will rise to the top, because people want cream. If your song is really that good, it will sell itself (provided you make a decent demo and play it for your connected friends, which you have).

Meow.

Dooby Dooby Doo

If the cream is what's rising to the top, I'd sure hate to hear the sour milk that doesn't make it :D

Alright, shniggens, let's assume you're talking about getting a song you wrote on nationwide radio and Rick Dees top 40 (does he still do that?) and MTV and making you a million dollars. I'll see how short I can keep this hangover induced crash course in cynicism.