Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How to make the Korg Minilogue sound warmer ?

Dextroze

Hello guys,

I have a Minilogue, and sometimes I feel like the sound could be warmer. I bought sometime ago a delay and reverb pedal, I'm very happy about them.

But what pedal could I buy in order to warm the sound of the Minilogue ?

I'm a newbie in the world of synths

Thanks for your help

Nord Electro 6D / Prophet Rev2/ Digitakt / Minilogue / Keyscape -

New video :

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Meh - I think you'll end up spending money and convincing yourself it sounds "warmer"...until you realize maybe not. My advice is always use a synth to its strengths and don't try to make it something it's not. If it's got an aggressive/harsh tone then let it rip. If it lacks balls then use it for soft breathy sounds and such. If you need something it's not good at use something else.

Having said that I don't know if you're a programmer or not. That minilogue may have just what you're after under the hood- you just need to get your hands dirty ;). Or find someone that can help you.

Agreed with Marky 1000%.

There's a handful of things you might try, but you will hit diminishing returns very soon, and it will begin to grate against the coolness of the Korg's simple form factor.

1) Run some noise into the audio in.

2) Run a sine wave into the audio in (or combine noise with sine) to buttress the fundamental

3) Try some low level FM, and keep the filter pretty closed

4) Make sure you've explored the waveform variations which don't have a lot of harmonics. Try stacking mellow oscillators an octave or two apart. (detune anyway with closed filter as above)

5) Try the Ring modulator with oscillator at fifths and fourths, then detune slightly. (closed filter)

6) In general, try making some sounds with more pitch modulation and filter modulation than you normally would. Then close the filter a bit more than you normally would.