Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I guess I should have known better

ashevillecabbie

Be forwarned I am re opening the Mac vs PC debate.

Last year I bought a nice asus tablet with pretty good specs. I don't have it handy right now because I have never really warmed to it.

I also invested in Microsoft Office 16 because I wasn't interested in embracing "the cloud".

Anyway I had it in mind to use it as a daw and I bought a used xwp1 to be the keyboard.

So now it just sits in my closet. Right off the bat even though I had bought it new one of the shortcuts to msoffice wasn't working. So that ticked me off right out of the gate. I am a writer as much as a musician and I need something I can write stories on.

The DAWs I was interested in were mixcraft 8 and maybe Reaper.

But looking at their support forums I just see problems. Driver issues, things not working, Just the whole nine yards.

I remember reading in the early 90s about this sort of stuff. I would have thought by now Windows would have acheived reliability equal to Mac but after all these years that is still not the case.

So I will be looking at Mac books.

Anubody wanna buy a nice little powerful asus notebook?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you look at the support forums of Macbooks and Mac DAWs do you not see a load of problems? Support forums are the places where people go to talk about problems.

In my opinion Windows is perfectly suitable for this kind of work, only the quirks are different than the Mac quirks. If you're used to one, it's difficult to get started on the other but it goes both ways.

Life is subtractive.
Genres: Jazz, funk, pop, Christian worship, BebHop
Wishlist: 80s-ish (synth)pop, symph pop, prog rock, fusion, musical theatre
Gear: NS2 + JUNO-G. KingKORG. SP6 at church.