Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Getting and External Synth to Sync to a DAW Tempo

Husker

I'm not having much luck with the Cubase forums, so I thought I would try here.

I'm a newbie, so I'm still learning about this. I am trying to get the master clock on my Nord A1R to sync to the the tempo of Cubase. I have everything connected through a Motu Midi Xpress XT as shown in the diagram below. According the the Nord manual, the master clock will automatically synchronize to any incoming midi clock messages, but the panel shows it is not receiving any. I've read through the Motu manual, but quite honestly I am lost here. Can someone at least get me started?

7CEArkW.jpg

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Not familiar with Cubase anymore but in Reaper part of configuring each midi output is selecting whether to have clock transmitted on that port. You do have to be in play or record mode for the clock to be sent. And it does light up all the outputs on my MOTU MTP-AV.

Btw love the block diagram. Makes helping people so much easier.

Thank you, I'm fairly certain this is a DAW issue - I'm sure I don't have something configured correctly. None of my external hardware seems to be receiving clock, so it must be on the Motu or before in the chain, most likely Cubase.

Jonathan, good thought. I went ahead and started with a fresh Motu program, with just routing controller to synth enabled.

I need to keep crawling through the Cubase manual.

I'm fairly certain this is a DAW issue - I'm sure I don't have something configured correctly.

I'm pretty sure you're right. I don't know Cubase, but I know in Sonar, transmitting MIDI clock has to be enabled and the out port has to be enabled. My hunch would be to look in some kind of global preferences menu.

Custom Music, Audio Post Production, Location Audio

www.gmma.biz

https://www.facebook.com/gmmamusic/