Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Slightly OT: Killer plugins

xKnuckles

I have some limited experience of making home recordings, but that was years ago and all of the things I used then are totally incompatible with what I have now. I currently have a nice DAW, as - I am sure - do many of you. What I am wondering though, is do any of you have a favourite plugin(s) which you purchased (ie. one not included with the DAW), which you find yourself using again and again and which you really feel was worth the extra cost?

I am not looking for anything specific; I am more interested in broadening my knowledge of what is available and worth exploring.... Thank you. :)

"Turn your fingers into a dust rag and keep them keys clean!" ;) Bluzeyone

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Here are the VSTs I am using regularly: Pianoteq 5, Arturia Mini-V 3.0, XHun Audio Little One, Sonicprojects OP-X Pro II, Addictive Drums 2.0

The Mai Tai synth included in Studio One 3.0 is also a very capable virtual analog synth plugin.

LIFE IS SHORT, GO GET THE GEAR YOU WANT ;-)

The term "plug-in" is pretty broad, and you will probably get answers more specific to your interests if you could specify a bit:

- Mac or Win?

- stand-alone functionality or strictly functioning within a host program?

- instrument or effect?

I use Spectrasonics Trillan a lot (my go-to app for any bass needs), and Kontact 5 as a sampler app: both are not strictly plug-ins

I use JamStix + EZDrummer to do most drum tracks. As a drum composition tool, JamStix is amazing; it is strictly plug-in.

J.S. Bach Well Tempered Klavier

The collected works of Scott Joplin

Ray Charles Genius plus Soul

Charlie Parker Omnibook

Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life

Weather Report Mr. Gone

Thanks very much Tom & Rob. :)

Good point BbAltered. :) In answer to your questions:

1. Windows