Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

semi-OT: rates

jeebustrain

So I've managed to walk into a bit of a "dream" situation (at least for me). My son is going into 3rd grade, and I got into a conversation with his music teacher about electronic music. I've been to his school numerous times for career day (my day job is in IT), and they want me to come in (and possibly tour multiple schools in the district) and talk to the kids about electronic music. There's almost no electronic music curriculum in the district (especially at the elementary/middle school level). I've done a bit of research into the Bob Moog Foundation schools and I have a general idea of what I want to present, talking about the elements and science of sound, show some instruments (theremin, analog synthesizers, etc...), talk about music and computers (recording, multitracking, etc..), and some other things. Obviously the balance is to not get too in depth that it will cause their eyes to glaze over, but I've done enough presentations with smaller kids (and having some of my own) that I think I could get a sense when I'm losing them. Plus, I'll show them how to make laser gun and fart noises on my Sub37.

Anyway, I'm a total synth nerd and I love talking to kids (or anyone for that matter) about this stuff. It's a labor of love for me. I let all the neighborhood kids play with my gear (I've never had a problem)My day job pays fairly well and my weekend gigging is mainly just a release (although it funds most of my G.A.S.).

They've asked me for a rate I would charge to do something like this. There's a part of me that wants to just do it for no cost whatsoever, but if I'm going to be driving all over the county over months, that's going to be quite a bit of time. I'm a bit torn about the whole thing.

How would my KC brethren handle something like this?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply