Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

looking for a keyboard with good rhodes sound AND pitch bend

gu93

I was tempted to invest in a Korg SV-1 because of it's sweet sounds, especially the Rhodes sound, but then I realized it has no pitch bend. Can anyone recommend something with both? I am new to electric keyboards. Thank you!

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

LOL, i think he means he needs a pitch bend in addition.

gu93, what are you planning? you need this board to cover more than Rhodes? A lot of synth leads, hence the need of the pitch bend? Or are you using another sound source for your synthy stuff so this keyboard has to be a good controller?

Yamaha CP88, Casio PX-560

I was tempted to invest in a Korg SV-1 because of it's sweet sounds, especially the Rhodes sound, but then I realized it has no pitch bend. Can anyone recommend something with both? I am new to electric keyboards. Thank you!

The Casio PX5-S has decent Rhodes sounds and a pitch bend wheel. I've used one for a couple of years and no issues.

The Casio PX5-S has decent Rhodes sounds and a pitch bend wheel. I've used one for a couple of years and no issues.

+1 on the PX-5S, esp. if you are new to electronic keyboards and will need help. Join PX-5S Facebook Group and you can get your questions answered 24/7 - we're close to 3000 members! :2thu:

There are also a ton of sounds you can download at Casio Music Forums , including the Steve Weingart Rhodes sound.

If you liked the SV-1 then ..... maybe the Kawai MP-7.

A nice balanced collection of sounds. Nice control layout. IMO a easy to learn interface. Good action and in the same general price range as the SV-1. It has amp simulators sort of / kind of like the SV-1.

I played the Montage 8 and thought the EPs were nice. So is the EPs on Nord Stage 2 EX ..... and the Forte. But that is a lot more money.