Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need some help naming these jazz chords

TaurusT

Hey guys,

Would you mind helping me out. I have to give proper name notation to a series of songs and I'm not quite sure a few chords what they're called.

A few of them I guessed but I'm not sure if they're correct, since I'm not really a jazz musician. I devided them into righthand and lefthand notes that are played together at the same time.

LH: F-C RH: A-D-E-G --- Fmaj13???

LH: C-G RH: C#-E-G --- C-9 (flat ninth)?

LH: C-G-A RH: D-F-A-D --- Dm with a C bass? or C6/9 sus4 ? (this chord won't resolve the 4rd, so Im hesitant if this is at all correct.

A few more I'm not sure about or don't know:

LH: F-C RH: A-D-E-G --- ??????

LH: D-A-D RH: F#-A-D# --- D-9 (flat ninth) ?

LH: C-G RH: C#-E-G --- ??????

*LH: Ab-E RH: G-G#-B-E --- ??????

*LH: Ab-E RH: G-G#-B-D --- ??????

LH: C-G-C RH: F-A-C --- F add9/C?

LH: Eb-Eb RH: G-C#-F --- Eb9?

LH: C#-G#-Bb RH: Eb-F#-Bb-Eb --- Ebm/C#? - C6/9sus4 ?

LH: C#-G#-C# RH: F#-Bb-C# --- ??????

If you can guide me in the right direction with proper names, I'd be very grateful. Thanks.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First off: the proper name for chords depends on the root (or bass) of the chord. Let us assume what you have written above is from left to right the lowest to the highest notes, and the bass player has not been given instructions to play some other note, then we can assign names.

Chords names can be somewhat arbitrary. What is most important is quickly communicating to others who are playing the song in a manner that makes it easy for the other guy to understand what you want. Another important aspect is that a chord name often implies a specific scale or a choice of scales. So sometimes a chord is named to tell the player what scale to use. Trying to name groups of notes without knowing the song key and the harmony movement in a specific passage is somewhat arbitrary.