Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

iphone 6 plus for music software

cedar

I'm very new to music software and am wondering whether it should be a factor in my pending decision to upgrade my phone to either the iphone 6 or iphone 6 plus.

My specific question is whether the added screen size in the iphone 6 plus will make an appreciable difference in running any music software (including just reading PDF of sheet music).

A major argument for the iphone 6 plus is that it is large enough to replace the need for tablets. But is this true when it comes to any music software?

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There's a big difference between tablet functions when you can use hold it near your eyes and when the device will be some distance from you (e.g. sitting on a music stand). The 6 plus is a nice size, but it can't replace an iPad for sheet music-type apps. Also, it cannot install or run iPad-specific apps. So some of the music software you're thinking of may not even run on the 6 plus.

Personally, I have both and use each for what they're good at. I believe you'd be frustrated trying to use the 6 plus as an iPad replacement for this use case.

There was a post last month where someone was hoping that the new iPads would include an A4 sized one, specifically because he found the current iPad too small to read scores and lyric sheets from.

I truly doubt that the 6+ would be big enough for your needs.

SSM

Occasionally, do something nice for a total stranger. They'll wonder what the hell is going on!

A major argument for the iphone 6 plus is that it is large enough to replace the need for tablets. But is this true when it comes to any music software?

No, because a lot of music software is still iPad-only, no matter how big the iPhone is.