Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I'm through with training wheels, ready to dump Mainstage

PianoMan51

In 2007 I bought Logic. Great product and price. Included was this free app called Mainstage. Wow! I can use my Macbook for live performance. And, it has many colors and bells and whistles and colors and buttons and colors! Did I mention colors? So amazing.

Most importantly, it held my hand through a bunch of technologies I didn't know, and didn't particularly want to know. Nice intro. I've been using it since 2008, on more than 300 gigs. And as long as I tested out my setups before using them live, and kept the laptop out of the sun, all has been good.

Now I find myself nearing the end of my Macbook's life. Lion is the highest OS it will handle, and with 4Gb of RAM, there's no point is worrying about 64bits. But $3k for a new one makes me choke.

After six years on the Mainstage tit, I realize that I don't want all the baggage. I'm not watching the laptop screen while I'm playing. I'm not using any of the Logic instruments. I just want to play Kontakt 5, UVI and GSI VB3 with my two keyboards.

So, is there an AU Host I can use to replace Mainstage, and hopefully get a few more years of use from my Macbook? I have a copy of AU Lab and it's buggy, especially when trying to close or quit. I've also looked at Bidule, but it appears that it can't be used standalone.

Any suggestions based on personal experience will be appreciated.

Jack

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply
FWIW, I'm running Mainstage 3 on a $1,200 MacBook Air (i7, 8 gigs RAM). But, it really sounds more like you want to get out of the laptop game altogether. What about something like the Muse Receptor?

I've been using it since 2008, on more than 300 gigs. And as long as I tested out my setups before using them live, and kept the laptop out of the sun, all has been good.