Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Considering rig change - please weigh in

Dr88s

You would think that given the amount of time I spend thinking about my rig, I'm a busy gigging musician. It's quite the opposite; I play once evening a week recreationally with 'for fun' bands and gig once a year, usually at a fairly large charity fundraiser.

My current setup is a Korg M50 (73 keys) on the bottom and a Roland VR-09 on top. The VR-09 is a newer addition which I got because I was not happy with any ROMpler organ in terms of adjustability.

I love my M50 because of its weight and portability as well as its very large collection of good diverse sounds across the board. I NEVER use it for sequencing / songwriting / "workstation" abilities.

Musically, while I would mostly want to play piano/EP/organ parts, depending on the band and songlist I've found myself playing synth lines, brass stabs, etc. more often. (At my gig this week, I had to play an accordion line on the M50 as well as a brass section...)

My important needs in a keyboard are:

1. Weight / portability. I hate schlepping equipment.

2. Good variety of sounds as a 'swiss army knife' keyboard

3. Ability to do some editing fairly easily. I am not a very good sound programmer, but if the band wants to play 'Won't Get Fooled Again', I know enough to put an organ through a square LFO routed to amp level and a sine LFO to filter cutoff. I like the M50s ability to eventually get what I want, but the tradeoff is that I find programming it quite hard and hidden in many pages of complicated menus.

My major reason for wanting to change is to get a weighted action board. I realized at this week's gig that I just can't play synth action well enough.