Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice on Keyboard Choice

DrHorace

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here, having looked around for a forum which seems to be both active and knowledgable about the current state of affairs with keyboard technology.

First a little background: I've been playing piano/keyboards for my whole life (now in my early 20s) in and out of bands in various genres. I've played jazz, alt rock and a little prog though these days I focus mainly on playing at church with a small worship team in which the keyboard does a lot more work than just lay out some atmospheric pads. I'm also beginning to get back into playing prog with a fellow guitarist.

I've got a Yamaha S90 from back in 2003 which has been my main (and only board) to date. I've had chances to play on a couple of Roland boards at various churches and the occasional test drive of other Yamaha boards. I've no experience playing on Korg or Kurz and only lusted after the oh-so-expensive Nords! (Which isn't to say that I'd rule them out - don't knock what you haven't tried!)

To the point then: I'm in the market for a new board with rather specific parameters for my choices. The mainstay of my playing will be practicing and playing in a worship band in which I need to be able to lay down pianos, EP, organs, pads and perhaps the occasional high-end glock line. Further, I'd love the capability to experiment with sounds for the prog arena, channeling influences like Yes, ELP, Gentle Giant and more recently Dream Theatre, Opeth and Steven Wilson (both in and out of Porcupine Tree).

As such I've been looking into what boards are around at the moment and have become rather lost in the mess of advertising and the fact that because its not about guitars the only people that talk about boards are people that really (really really) know what they are talking about and sometimes the discussion goes right over my head.