Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Thinking about going freelance....have questions

Blues Disciple

Hey all,

I am very happy in my Christian blues band, Have Mercy!, here in NC. The problem is that churches, coffeeshops and other sites don't offer any $$$ except for donations or love offerings. No money to be paid playing Christian music, especially Christian blues, at all.

So I am thinking of putting out my shingle as a hired Keyboard player---specializing in blues and classic rock organ work or even Praise and Worship keys too.. If not playing, I would also rent out my Hammond C3 and Leslie 122 for shows in need of a Hammond. I have close to 30 years experience, know a ton of blues, rock and Christian Praise and Worship songs and am confident about sitting in cold with a band and making it work.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to make this work?

Anyone have any idea of the money to be made or how much I should charge?

or

Does anyone know of any steady money-making bands or shows looking for a Hammond dude to sit in on a regular basis? (I would be open to tour work if it is profitable enough)

I am not looking to make a million bucks here or even make a living (although that has always been a dream of mine)...just looking to make enough to warrant playing for free with my regular band.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

BD

"With the help of God and true friends I've come to realize, I still have two strong legs and even wings to fly" Gregg Allman from "Ain't Wastin Time No More"

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Anyone have any suggestions on how to make this work?

Anyone have any idea of the money to be made or how much I should charge?