Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

SK1 headaches

SpikeKeys

Here's my sad saga :(

Bought an SK1 when they were hot off the presses. After a few weeks of playing it, the "cypher bug" bit. That's when you play a note and it won't turn off 'til you power down the unit. It happened pretty rarely, but I complained of course to Hammond and they replaced it. Unfortunately the replacement had one bad key, so they sent me a third unit. I've been playing this baby a lot for more than 2 months, and I've loved it faithfully all this time until last Saturday night, when the cypher demon reared its ugly head twice during 2 separate sets on a gig! I'm waiting to hear from Hammond what they can do about it.

Just for the record, I've been playing synths for >40 years, and I've owned plenty. Never have I encountered a persistent bug like this one.

Anyone else having this problem?

Spike

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That sucks! I guess it doesn't just happen to software! I have the pocket B3 app on my iPad. I was controlling it via an IO Dock from my Kurzweil and it was sounding surprisingly good. Until I discovered that I couldn't get through 5 tunes without it hanging on a note. Good thing I didn't pay much for it.

I would hope that Hammond/Suzuki will come up with a firmware fix for this.

Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12

Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell

That's on of the problems with buying a new KB hot off the assembly line.

Mike T.

Yamaha Motif ES8, Alesis Ion, Prophet 5 Rev 3.2, 1979 Rhodes Mark 1 Suitcase 73 Piano, Arp Odyssey Md III, Roland R-70 Drum Machine, Digitech Vocalist Live Pro. Roland Boss Chorus Ensemble CE-1.

Sorry to hear of your troubles. This is the first time i heard of this bug. Anyone else experiencing it?