Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Please help me find some jazz I can get down with.

simpleman3441

I watched that Pat Metheny video where he talks about Kenny G and I would agree with what he says, but if you don't know anyone that shares your taste how do you find what you want from jazz? I studied Jazz at school and I can't get into a lot of it. The classic stuff like Django and Wes doesn't really speak to me. I went to a jam session and heard some high school kids rippin on some standards and even the more advanced college kids I was with were impressed. Haven't been able to find anything that grooved like those kids did though... I did think Methenys The Way Up was pretty cool, and the stuff with Mehldau, too. Guys like Mehldau and Rosenwinkel are a little more interesting to me. Kurts Whispers of Love is very cool harmonically, but does anyone know anything that is interesting harmonically and that hits hard and grooves with some nice ostinato style rhythms in the drums and bass? As complex and impressive as traditional jazz drumming is, I have a hard time gettin into it. I want to find some jazz that really pulls me in and keeps my attention. It seems that a little repetition goes a long way towards pulling me in. I can get down with some of the most basic things

[video:youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkbDX_nP9Yg

Lol I know. The drums in this Martino/Scofield thing are gettin towards what I like.

[video:youtube]

I like some Medeski Martin and Wood stuff, too. I'm just curious what suggestions you guys might have. Thanks!

We cannot accelerate the growth of a tree by pulling on its branches. - Ricardo Iznaola

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Scofield was going to be my first suggestion (the organist in that video has a wicked left hand, unless there's a bass player hiding in the shadows!). Maybe some Larry Carlton, Fourplay, or Robin Ford would ring your bell?