Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

ideas for a lightweight digital piano/organ

KL2012

Hi, I currently have a Yam. S90ES for fun (I am not a pro) but have found that for informal jam sessions with friends, I'm usually left out since I never want to tote it anywhere (~60lb, hard to cram into my civic). It's about making music with friends and getting better, which doesn't happen if you can't bring your instrument with you!

I'd like to get something that isn't too expensive (1500?), is of high quality, has the graded action, and has a similar palette of sounds as the S90ES. Maybe 35 lb max? Actually I think the bulky size of the S90ES is more of a deterrent for travel for me than the weight. I guess it doesn't have to be 88 key? what do you think are my options? and say I could be persuaded to spend more :)

I am also wondering about an amp/monitor combo, though for the short term I know there is usually something to plug into when I go to my friends'. I'm out of the loop when it comes to new keyboards, so thanks for any suggestions!

I should add that I am most interested in learning jazz, but I am not married to anything. I am a lover of rhythm and melody of all kinds

Kenny

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You'll have to spend a bit more than $1500 but it would be well worth it. For good piano and very good organ, try the new Nord Electro 3 (61 key about $1800, 73 key about $2100). VERY compact and light weight, 15 & 18 lbs I believe.

Yep, that's the ticket....

Yamaha C2, Yamaha MODX7, Hammond SK1, Hammond XK-5 Heritage Pro System, Korg Kronos 2 61, Yamaha CP4, Kurzweil PC4-7, Nord Stage 3 73, Nord Wave 2, QSC 8.2, Motion Sound KP 210S,  Key Largo, etc…yeah I have too much…