Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Ice skating music

Synthoid

My wife is a big fan of ice skating competitions on TV. Over the years I end up sitting through it once in awhile....sometimes with interest. Anyway, why is the music almost always classical during the skating?

Seems it would be far more interesting with some contemporary tunes or even tasteful electronic music, say, JMJ?

Anyone know what the rules are regarding "music to skate by" during competitions?

:snax:

When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am not an expert, but from what I gather it's not about violating written rules, but more about violating unspoken traditions from the stuffy keepers (judges?) of said tradition.

I have seen contemporary music used in skating, but always in exhibition, never in Olympic or national championship competitions.

Moe

---

All I know is in those old roller rinks they used to have a lot of Hammonds. My buddy had pictures of them painted white sometimes with neon lights.

"Danny, ci manchi a tutti. La E-Street Band non e' la stessa senza di te. Riposa in pace, fratello"

noblevibes.com

My daughter has been an ice skater for about 7 years and the part "They probably want something that's timeless so that they can do the same routine for the rest of their careers." is probably a good explanation with it really not being so much the judges but the skating commission. Those who over see the skating rules and regulations. My daughter was learning a pairs dance and it was all based around the Old Organ waltzes. It was brutal just standing in there trying Not to listen and be a good dad with out walking over and ripping out the speaker wire. They could use a update to the music without a doubt.

Rod

Wow....no innovation? Nothing fresh?

Not sure what you're getting at. ???

When I read: