Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

looping pedal question

Creamer298

I currently have a Boss Me-50. I typically play guitar by myself, so I really want to be able to loop guitar parts. The Me-50 (as far as i can tell) only allows for about 2 seconds of loop at a time.

What are some good, not too expensive loop pedals?

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I hve the Digitech Jam Man but I am new to it also so I cannot give much advice. The Jam Man has no reverse loop which seems to be one of it's few negatives.

Jam Man comes with some built in prerecorded loops with bass, drums and keys I think...about 9 or 10 loops and of course you can make your own and overdub etc.

It sounds really good.

They are going for $299 now.

Yeah, the RC20 was the cheapest option I could find that would do what I wanted it to, basically record backing tracks to jam over, or to be able to concentrate on vocals. Having just one pedal do everything keeps the size down, but it is multifunctional and gets completicated at first, but once you get it down, it's heavenly and easy to use.

You can pick from some 30 or 40 very useable drum tracks, step in the tempo you want, record loops as long as your heart desires, then add multiple tracks over that if you want, and you can save up to ten or more of your tracks (I don't remember, I'm not home right now).

Here's a real amateur demo of my RC-20, I'm not much of a guitarist, but you should check the Boss site, they have far superior demos. I found it's really helped me progress though, the only pedal I really need!

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=697283&content=videos&vidID=54595

www.myspace.com/darcyhoover

Good point Red.

But limitations are sometimes better for better music.

The DL4 is such a great delay modeler. The loop time can be too short for a slow blues loop and that is the real drawback with that one.