Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I didn't realize how much a whammy bar affected things.

Gruupi

I debated long and hard on whether to put a vibrato on my Warmoth Les Paul. I ended up with the Wilkerson because of the adjustabilty and I loved it on my Carvin. I have never been quite happy with it on the Les Paul though. My hand was always on the bridge and bumping into the bar. On a Strat style my hand is out over the strings more so it didn't matter.

I wedged a little block of wood in there this morning. I immediately loved the difference. The tone is more focused, and bending strings has a more direct feel. I get to go back to my original hand position when I started playing guitar on a Les Paul copy with my hand resting on the bridge. I can mute strings again.

I love whammy bar stuff and still have my Carvin, plus I can take the block out and put the whammy back on the Warmoth in 2 minutes. I'm just amazed how this tiny little change affects things.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I play my electrics pretty hard. Consequently, I've just never been much of a trem guy. I have a trem on a couple of Strats, and that's it. I will not even buy a guitar with a trem on it. I know you can block them....the ones I have with trems are blocked. I just like a hardtail's feel, and the way they behave.

I don't have anything against trems....they are just not for me.

Don

"There once was a note, Pure and Easy. Playing so free, like a breath rippling by."

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=574296

http://www.myspace.com/imdrs

I play my electrics pretty hard. Consequently, I've just never been much of a trem guy. I have a trem on a couple of Strats, and that's it. I will not even buy a guitar with a trem on it. I know you can block them....the ones I have with trems are blocked. I just like a hardtail's feel, and the way they behave.

I don't have anything against trems....they are just not for me.

:thu: