Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

David Byrne Once in a Lifetime SNL

For "Stop Making Sense", there was an 8-song album release of a subset of the song performances from the movie. I had both the full soundtrack recording (and later the DVD) in addition to the 8-song album, and I noticed at least one place in the 8-song album where they cleaned up something in the audio of the performance. The audio we hear on the youtube video of Byrne's recent SNL performance may have had similar audio fixes applied to it. If anyone recorded the live broadcast on SNL, it might be interesting to compare their audio.

SNL is know to cleanup various things between the live NYC showing and the SNL being shown in other timezones.

From my time as a recording engineer I've worked on number of live albums. Like one VERY famous group that by the time they were done on the drums and audience from live recording was left. Another big group had switched record label and old label said you owe us you live album. We listen to forty reels of tape with the pianist/producer of the group and even he said there is nothing usable too many screwups. He tried to negotiate with the old record company said they'd do a studio album to complete their contract. Record company said screw up we want the live double album, well they got it and it floppy right from the beginning. I was a roadie for one of the members of Derick and the Domino after the band broke up and with him when that live album came out. I asked him one day why that live album is so bad. He rattled off a list of the drugs each was into and then just said... you expect us to sound good??? To end on a good note. The Band's Rock of Ages live album only has two bad clarinet notes that were fixed later that album is as live as a live album can be.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic