Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2990019 - 05/17/19 09:38 AM Using iPads in Music-Making
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
I know lots of people love this tool for making music today, but it's gone right past me. I've been using my desktop for so long that it's hard to imagine all of the software that is available only for iOS apps.

In particular, there is a Brazilian drum machine app that looks amazing, and I think it would be helpful for a bossa nova album I'm producing for a client. But it's iOS only. How do you guys integrate your iPad software with your DAWs, if you do?

I guess I could do all the programming on my iPad--ugh--and then just get the audio out of the iPad into my Mac somehow, but since there isn't usb I'm not sure how I'd even do that.

This is the app--there are demos of it on youtube, and they seem really cool to me. I have a limited knowledge of authentic Brazilian rhythms and I'd love to use some of these options as starter blocks for my arrangements.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/brazilian-drum-machine/id988165210

Top
KC Island
#2990020 - 05/17/19 09:43 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12902
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: Jazzooo
but since there isn't usb I'm not sure how I'd even do that.


What? confused

Also:

  • Which DAW are you using on your desktop?
  • Which platform (Mac, PC, Linux?)


And finally:

[URL=https://www.google.com/search?q=use+ipad+with+desktop+daw
Clonk[/URL]
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2990023 - 05/17/19 09:46 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Sven Golly]
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Sorry, I guess I left specifics off my situation:

iMac/Logic Pro. My iPad mini doesn't have USB, of course.

Top
#2990026 - 05/17/19 09:49 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
So it seems that you have to do the following:

Get an interface between the iPad that can take lightning to send over USB? I can see how this would allow me to send audio to Logic, but I don't think that would allow me to do my programming in Logic, would it?

Top
#2990027 - 05/17/19 09:53 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
ChazKeys Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/26/14
Posts: 138
Loc: Yorkshire UK
IConnectivity is the pro way to integrate iPad into your DAW.

https://www.iconnectivity.com/

Top
#2990028 - 05/17/19 09:55 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: ChazKeys]
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Thanks--let me drill down a little bit in terms of my goal/fantasy:

Is there anything that will allow me to view and interact with the user interface of an iOS app on my iMac?

Top
#2990031 - 05/17/19 10:00 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
AnotherScott Online   content
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13611
Originally Posted By: Jazzooo
My iPad mini doesn't have USB, of course...So it seems that you have to do the following: Get an interface between the iPad that can take lightning to send over USB?

The lightning cable you have connects the iPad to the Mac via USB
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2990035 - 05/17/19 10:06 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: AnotherScott]
RedKey Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 05/20/09
Posts: 1353
Loc: Chicago
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
The lightning cable you have connects the iPad to the Mac via USB


And... if you open the Audio MIDI Setup app in your Mac's utilities folder, you can enable your iPad as an Input/Output device for both audio and MIDI. Just tested with Logic and a single cable to my iPad. I can play the iPad iOS app from logic via MIDI and record the audio from the iPad iOS app to another track in Logic.

It sounds like you already have what you need other than programming the iPad iOS app from the Mac user interface.

Top
#2990038 - 05/17/19 10:15 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: RedKey]
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
"It sounds like you already have what you need other than programming the iPad iOS app from the Mac user interface."

I think you're right. On of the videos I watched suggested that I needed not just the cable but also a special audio interface, but you're saying the audio will travel on the lighting to usb cable? I don't have one here to test out.

And has anyone come up with a way to use an iPad app as a sound engine but get the user interface up on the Mac for programming?

Top
#2990046 - 05/17/19 11:10 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12902
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: Jazzooo
the lighting to usb cable? I don't have one here to test out.


If you have the charger that came with the iPad, then yes you do.

Quote:
And has anyone come up with a way to use an iPad app as a sound engine but get the user interface up on the Mac for programming?


Why would you want to ignore all the effort done by someone to program an iOS-specific app and take advantage of the multi-touch screen?

Do yourself a favour, spend more time with the app(s) in question on your iPad. Learn more about MIDI. Learn more about your DAW. Only then will you really be able to make this work well for you. Based on your line of questioning in this thread, you're still a bit of a way off from that goal.
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2990068 - 05/17/19 12:04 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: RedKey]
Zadillo Offline
Member

Registered: 07/18/17
Posts: 17
Originally Posted By: RedKey
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
The lightning cable you have connects the iPad to the Mac via USB


And... if you open the Audio MIDI Setup app in your Mac's utilities folder, you can enable your iPad as an Input/Output device for both audio and MIDI. Just tested with Logic and a single cable to my iPad. I can play the iPad iOS app from logic via MIDI and record the audio from the iPad iOS app to another track in Logic.

It sounds like you already have what you need other than programming the iPad iOS app from the Mac user interface.


Can't emphasize this enough - Inter-Device Audio and MIDI is one of the great things about having an iPad and a Mac:

https://discchord.com/appnews/2017/11/16/inter-device-audio-midi-solves-everything

Top
#2990175 - 05/18/19 02:03 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Zadillo]
Donsta Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/16/16
Posts: 176
The Brazilian Drum Machine does a really good job using a drum set.

I couldn't find a setting that uses hand percussion. Is there one or is there another app that does?

My apologies if I'm hijacking the thread.
_________________________
The harder I work the luckier I get

Top
#2990176 - 05/18/19 02:15 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Donsta]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3890
Yes - Soft Drummer.
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
[ Ravenscroft / Canterbury / Neo-Soul / iFretless / Ivory / Scarbee ]

Top
#2990238 - 05/19/19 02:48 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: drawback]
Donsta Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/16/16
Posts: 176
Originally Posted By: drawback
Yes - Soft Drummer.


Thanks Drawback. I'll check it out.
_________________________
The harder I work the luckier I get

Top
#2990239 - 05/19/19 03:57 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Donsta]
Bobby Simons Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 12/28/17
Posts: 664
Loc: Northport, L.I., NY
Originally Posted By: Donsta
. . . I couldn't find a setting that uses hand percussion. Is there one or is there another app that does?

Take a look at DrumJam.
_________________________
Yamaha P515, Yamaha KX88, Edirol PCR-800 (2), Korg microKey 61 Air, Mainstage, iOS, assorted other controllers and retired boards.

Top
#2990260 - 05/19/19 11:23 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Bobby Simons]
Donsta Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/16/16
Posts: 176
[/quote]
Take a look at DrumJam.[/quote]

Thanks Bobby. I think this is what I'm looking for.
_________________________
The harder I work the luckier I get

Top
#2990269 - 05/19/19 12:56 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: ChazKeys]
Ed A. Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/07/01
Posts: 1098
Loc: Connecticut,USA
Originally Posted By: ChazKeys
IConnectivity is the pro way to integrate iPad into your DAW.

https://www.iconnectivity.com/



As others mentioned above, you don't need that sort of thing anymore to connect your iPhone or iPad to a Mac. Plug your iDevice into an available USB port on your Mac. Start Audio/MIDI setup and enable your iDevice at the bottom of the left gray column. Set up your channel strip (in this case, MainStage) as shown. Now, any softsynth will connect both MIDI and audio directly to the MainStage channel strip, without the need for any third-party hardware. This will also work with Logic Pro or any DAW. Added benefit is that because your iDevice is connected to your Mac by USB, it also charges it.



Top
#2990273 - 05/19/19 01:11 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
Ed A. Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/07/01
Posts: 1098
Loc: Connecticut,USA
Originally Posted By: Jazzooo
Sorry, I guess I left specifics off my situation:

iMac/Logic Pro. My iPad mini doesn't have USB, of course.


It actually does have USB. It has a Lightning connector on the iPad side with a USB plug on the other end of the cable. What I mentioned above is seen by macOS and iOS as MIDI and audio over USB via IDAM through that cable.

Top
#2990283 - 05/19/19 03:30 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Ed A.]
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
I must be a pretty lousy communicator, because so many people have responded to everything besides what I want to know!

Top
#2990286 - 05/19/19 03:38 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Sven Golly]
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
“It sounds like you already have what you need other than programming the iPad iOS app from the Mac user interface.“

That is correct.


“Why would you want to ignore all the effort done by someone to program an iOS specific app and take it vantage of the multi touchscreen?”

Because it’s what I want. I don’t use my iPad in music making normally, and if this software or something similar was available from my desktop, I wouldn’t have started this thread. I like my tools to serve my purposes. I make enough compromises to adapt to technology as it is. I just saw an app that sounded good and I liked several specific features and sounds, and wanted to find out if there was a way to control it on my desktop. The touchscreen aspect was not even a small part of my consideration, and it still isn’t.

Top
#2990295 - 05/19/19 04:31 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
Donsta Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/16/16
Posts: 176
My Apologies Jazzooo. I hijacked the thread. Can anyone help with the original topic?
_________________________
The harder I work the luckier I get

Top
#2990302 - 05/19/19 06:59 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Donsta]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1698
Loc: Nevada
I run iPad Pro and a USB Powered LCD into my Physis K4 then to the 1U PC.
I program and automate with MIDI Designer for my Strymons and the SE-02 and Blofeld get the iPad Pro for Editors, Sample Transfers and Wavetable Conversions.

Never really needed it, but it sure is much easier for everything.
I bought the Physis for 8 x Pedals/ Zones, never knew those those 4 Type B and 1 Type A would be so useful.

iPad has changed my life, I’m using smart gadgets now for the first time in my life.
I still use a KyroCera XT waterproof flip top.
Can only text 32 letters so I never use that either.

But he’ll I got GPS now instead of studying maps, even got some gal with a sexy British accent telling me where to go and asking me if she can help.
Not really keen on Synths and stuff.
_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2990314 - 05/19/19 09:23 PM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: hardware]
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/17/01
Posts: 692
Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
No worries at all, donsta.

Top
#2990331 - 05/20/19 04:47 AM Re: Using iPads in Music-Making [Re: Jazzooo]
GovernorSilver Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/22/06
Posts: 5951
Loc: Washington DC
Originally Posted By: Jazzooo
I
I guess I could do all the programming on my iPad--ugh--and then just get the audio out of the iPad into my Mac somehow, but since there isn't usb I'm not sure how I'd even do that.


If you just want to get audio from iPad to Logic on your Mac, this might be all you need to do

https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/play-audio-iphone-mac/
_________________________
https://soundcloud.com/governorsilver

Top


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner