Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I went to synth school...

... and had a ball!

There's a local guy who has set up a synth repair workshop and he's started offering workshops on synth basics. So off I went to make sure I truly understand the difference between and oscillator and a filter ;)

There were four of us there and you will be pleased to know that the person sitting next to the guy with the Moog was playing a Nord Lead :D

s9f6spCl.jpg

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

That's really cool. The synth tech deserves kudos for the idea of offering synthesizer basics/instructions.

I also went to synth school. It was 1977; I was a freshman in college. The school scheduled a 30-day "January term" where students took one specialized course only. I signed up for the music studio course, which turned out to be a course in using a synthesizer. So we got detailed instructions on oscillators, and how to change the frequency of the oscillator, and how a LF oscillator can be used to automatically raise and lower the frequency of the oscillator, etc. We got an indepth tour of synthesizer function. A few years later, I bought an Arp Odyssey.

Of course, in 1977, the instruction was limited to subtractive synthesis. Additive synthesis, FM synthesis, and sampling were all yet decades away. But I can tell you those early instructions gave me a real solid foundation in audio synthesis for all the changes that were to come.

J.S. Bach Well Tempered Klavier

The collected works of Scott Joplin

Ray Charles Genius plus Soul

Charlie Parker Omnibook

Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life

Weather Report Mr. Gone

That's really cool. The synth tech deserves kudos for the idea of offering synthesizer basics/instructions.