Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

help with guitar body handcarved in the Amazon Jungle

Amazonguitar1

I have played guitar for over 15 years. But my occupation is Author and wildlife lecturer. I travel to the Amazon rainforest every 8 weeks. While in one of the Amazon villages I live in, I became friends with a very talented wood carver. Last week while in his hut he hand carved me a guitar body from bloodwood. It blew my mind It was even blessed by a Shaman.

I am looking for advice on how to set it up to be a real sweet ax. Needless to say I am having this villager make more in all different styles, themes, and wood.. Your advice is priceless thanks Please go to my website and check it out.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That is absolutely gorgeous - hopefully it's the back of the guitar body, as you won't be able to mount hardware without carving flat surfaces for the bridge, pickups, etc., and destroying the look.

Some people here are going to perceive this thread as spam(advertising), and will likely object to its being here. There is a section set aside for vendors, and it would be welcome there. Good luck.

Never a DUH! moment! Well, almost never. OK, OK! Sometimes never!

I'm not sure if this is truly SPAM or not, but I love the wood. The carving is not quite "my thang", but I love the color and grain of the wood. Bloodwood has always been on my "Short List" of interesting woods.

I don't know this guy well enough yet (maybe another reason for posting this in the other thread) to determine whether or not this is spam, or an honest outpouring of passion for the carving, guitar and sharing with others.

[edit] ... as for how to "set it up" (i.e. determine and machine locations for the hardware); I'll leave that to other, much more experienced than I in the area. Jim, are you there?