Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Picks and tone suckage

surgevw

So I am a total noob.

But I am still stunned how much tone suckage there is from a thick pick. I use Fender thin usually. I was trying a copper pick (Beryllium Copper?) and it was nice. But it seems like even a medium will change a single coil to a humbucker or a single coil with the tone set on "5".

Being used to a thin, squirmy pick, a thin metal pick isn't my "thing", but for those who want more highs but don't want to strum with a chewing gum wrapper pick, I would suggest giving it a try.

:wave:

still a noob!

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I find it's all in how you use it; well, to a point, anyways. Your attack, angle, up or down, placement along the string(s) length...

Personally, I prefer using no pick at all most of the time. Pretty much all of the time, really! Unless you count my nails.

Ask yourself- What Would Ren and Stimpy Do?

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~

_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _

The only thing I like about thick picks is that it is easier for me to gallop. Other than that, it's all thin for me or pickless. :wave:

"Treat your wife with honor, respect, and understanding as you live together so that you can pray effectively as husband and wife." 1 Peter 3:7

I Used to use stone picks, but they break when they hit a hard surface, and they were very slick, so a little persperation, and they go flying... usually to land on a hard surface.

I have a stainless steel pick given to me by one of the guitar techs for Def Leopard. It eats strings. (Not as baddly as the stone picks did, though.)

For years I used Gibson heavys. They don't bend when they heat up, while Fenders do. Gobsons just wear out.

I like the accuracy and solid attack that I get from a solid unyielding pick. Give me a whimpy pick, I'll just use my fingers or pull out a quarter.